Skip to content
Warwickshire Counts — Warwickshire, in numbers.Local help →

Stratford-on-Avon, in numbers

People and living standards: Stratford-on-Avon

Stratford-on-Avon local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Stratford-on-Avon local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 105,435 in 1991 to 148,772 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Stratford-on-Avon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 108,390 people in 1996; 148,772 people in 2025. 37.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Stratford-on-Avon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991105,435
1992106,421
1993107,319
1994107,812
1995108,297
1996108,390
1997109,799
1998110,727
1999110,152
2000110,547
2001111,551
2002112,258
2003112,992
2004113,483
2005114,823
2006116,708
2007118,478
2008119,666
2009119,826
2010120,191
2011120,824
2012121,005
2013121,548
2014122,142
2015122,850
2016123,729
2017125,624
2018127,565
2019129,816
2020131,979
2021135,946
2022138,797
2023143,080
2024146,196
2025148,772
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Stratford-on-Avon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,677 people in 1996; 24,133 people in 2025. 22.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Stratford-on-Avon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,373
199219,436
199319,536
199419,609
199519,723
199619,677
199719,948
199820,041
199920,048
200020,191
200120,419
200220,719
200320,853
200420,845
200521,016
200621,141
200721,190
200821,054
200920,912
201020,634
201120,425
201220,251
201320,216
201420,308
201520,305
201620,411
201720,791
201821,022
201921,428
202021,707
202122,210
202222,758
202323,511
202423,849
202524,133
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Stratford-on-Avon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 69,457 people in 1996; 86,308 people in 2025. 24.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Stratford-on-Avon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199167,744
199268,495
199369,121
199469,389
199569,546
199669,457
199770,449
199871,131
199970,353
200070,409
200170,860
200270,724
200370,836
200470,821
200571,563
200672,859
200774,044
200874,544
200974,002
201073,639
201173,447
201272,562
201372,151
201471,802
201572,057
201672,298
201773,284
201874,393
201975,483
202076,936
202179,504
202280,798
202383,331
202485,117
202586,308
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Stratford-on-Avon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,256 people in 1996; 38,331 people in 2025. 99.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Stratford-on-Avon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199118,318
199218,490
199318,662
199418,814
199519,028
199619,256
199719,402
199819,555
199919,751
200019,947
200120,272
200220,815
200321,303
200421,817
200522,244
200622,708
200723,244
200824,068
200924,912
201025,918
201126,952
201228,192
201329,181
201430,032
201530,488
201631,020
201731,549
201832,150
201932,905
202033,336
202134,232
202235,241
202336,238
202437,230
202538,331
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 134,724 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Stratford-on-Avon · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,5661.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African4820.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,2881.7%
White128,67295.5%
Other ethnic group7160.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 120,485 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Stratford-on-Avon · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White117,30797.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,2581%
Asian/Asian British1,4661.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2640.2%
Other ethnic group1900.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 111,484 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Stratford-on-Avon · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White110,02298.7%
Mixed5480.5%
Asian/Asian British4130.4%
Black/Black British1360.1%
Chinese/Other3650.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 26.9% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Stratford-on-Avon council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £15,032 per person in 1997; £32,950 per person in 2024. 119.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Stratford-on-Avon council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199715,032
199815,539
199916,222
200017,168
200117,656
200217,950
200318,543
200419,171
200519,543
200620,099
200720,806
200821,642
200921,498
201021,754
201121,941
201222,646
201323,548
201424,489
201526,649
201627,780
201727,275
201825,754
201927,195
202026,352
202127,629
202229,495
202331,399
202432,950
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Stratford-on-Avon council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 41.7% in 1997; 26.9% in 2024. 14.8 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Stratford-on-Avon council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199741.7
199843.5
199943.4
200044.2
200142.7
200241.9
200342.2
200441.3
200539
200637.2
200735.6
200837.4
200934.3
201034.7
201134.7
201234.1
201334.4
201435.4
201540.1
201644.3
201738.4
201826.2
201929.1
202025.5
202126.5
202228.4
202328.4
202426.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

58.8%

21 March 2021 · Stratford-on-Avon local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

11.7%

21 March 2021 · Stratford-on-Avon local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

14.4%

21 March 2021 · Stratford-on-Avon local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.1%

21 March 2021 · Stratford-on-Avon local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£397,000

July 2026 · Stratford-on-Avon local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,149

August 2026 · Stratford-on-Avon local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.