Skip to content
Warwickshire Counts — Warwickshire, in numbers.Local help →

Nuneaton and Bedworth, in numbers

People and living standards: Nuneaton and Bedworth

Nuneaton and Bedworth local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Nuneaton and Bedworth local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 117,513 in 1991 to 144,042 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Nuneaton and Bedworth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 117,888 people in 1996; 144,042 people in 2025. 22.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Nuneaton and Bedworth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991117,513
1992117,656
1993117,899
1994118,642
1995118,533
1996117,888
1997117,905
1998118,227
1999118,454
2000118,447
2001119,239
2002119,625
2003120,541
2004120,668
2005121,048
2006121,787
2007122,661
2008123,868
2009124,330
2010124,759
2011125,409
2012126,438
2013127,275
2014127,980
2015128,588
2016129,899
2017131,138
2018131,830
2019132,953
2020133,688
2021134,303
2022135,696
2023138,525
2024141,554
2025144,042
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Nuneaton and Bedworth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 25,561 people in 1996; 27,869 people in 2025. 9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Nuneaton and Bedworth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199125,478
199225,435
199325,599
199425,756
199525,774
199625,561
199725,510
199825,494
199925,347
200025,269
200125,138
200225,035
200324,954
200424,673
200524,466
200624,312
200724,133
200824,116
200924,054
201023,971
201123,970
201223,993
201324,145
201424,219
201524,367
201624,687
201725,034
201825,157
201925,478
202025,556
202125,586
202226,069
202326,806
202427,456
202527,869
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Nuneaton and Bedworth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 75,536 people in 1996; 89,036 people in 2025. 17.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Nuneaton and Bedworth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199176,071
199276,064
199375,990
199476,378
199576,114
199675,536
199775,518
199875,687
199975,784
200075,692
200176,368
200276,680
200377,480
200477,713
200578,164
200678,962
200779,640
200880,406
200980,317
201080,138
201180,345
201280,432
201380,498
201480,469
201580,442
201680,943
201781,453
201881,744
201982,221
202082,706
202182,978
202283,598
202385,390
202487,251
202589,036
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Nuneaton and Bedworth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,791 people in 1996; 27,137 people in 2025. 61.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Nuneaton and Bedworth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199115,964
199216,157
199316,310
199416,508
199516,645
199616,791
199716,877
199817,046
199917,323
200017,486
200117,733
200217,910
200318,107
200418,282
200518,418
200618,513
200718,888
200819,346
200919,959
201020,650
201121,094
201222,013
201322,632
201423,292
201523,779
201624,269
201724,651
201824,929
201925,254
202025,426
202125,739
202226,029
202326,329
202426,847
202527,137
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 134,198 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Nuneaton and Bedworth · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh10,7828%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2,4461.8%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,4491.8%
White116,93987.1%
Other ethnic group1,5821.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 125,252 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Nuneaton and Bedworth · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White114,39291.3%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,3961.1%
Asian/Asian British7,8806.3%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,0470.8%
Other ethnic group5370.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 119,132 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Nuneaton and Bedworth · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White113,26895.1%
Mixed7250.6%
Asian/Asian British4,5343.8%
Black/Black British3300.3%
Chinese/Other2750.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 19.7% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Nuneaton and Bedworth council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £7,985 per person in 1997; £20,856 per person in 2024. 161.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Nuneaton and Bedworth council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19977,985
19988,060
19998,539
20008,968
20019,514
20029,776
200310,286
200410,750
200510,908
200611,371
200711,701
200812,078
200912,752
201012,728
201113,079
201213,622
201314,021
201414,618
201515,389
201615,903
201715,945
201816,034
201916,767
202017,145
202117,856
202218,666
202319,736
202420,856
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Nuneaton and Bedworth council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -24.7% in 1997; -19.7% in 2024. 5 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Nuneaton and Bedworth council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-24.7
1998-25.6
1999-24.5
2000-24.7
2001-23.1
2002-22.7
2003-21.1
2004-20.8
2005-22.4
2006-22.4
2007-23.8
2008-23.3
2009-20.4
2010-21.2
2011-19.7
2012-19.3
2013-19.9
2014-19.2
2015-19.1
2016-17.4
2017-19.1
2018-21.4
2019-20.4
2020-18.3
2021-18.3
2022-18.7
2023-19.3
2024-19.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

58.1%

21 March 2021 · Nuneaton and Bedworth local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

20.3%

21 March 2021 · Nuneaton and Bedworth local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

22.6%

21 March 2021 · Nuneaton and Bedworth local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.9%

21 March 2021 · Nuneaton and Bedworth local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£228,000

July 2026 · Nuneaton and Bedworth local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£925

August 2026 · Nuneaton and Bedworth local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.