Skip to content
Warwickshire Counts — Warwickshire, in numbers.Local help →

Warwick, in numbers

People and living standards: Warwick

Warwick local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Warwick local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 118,121 in 1991 to 157,925 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Warwick council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 121,695 people in 1996; 157,925 people in 2025. 29.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Warwick council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991118,121
1992118,320
1993118,307
1994119,180
1995120,007
1996121,695
1997122,073
1998122,555
1999122,994
2000123,989
2001126,095
2002128,330
2003130,724
2004132,719
2005134,567
2006135,593
2007136,655
2008137,448
2009138,189
2010138,115
2011137,736
2012139,225
2013139,447
2014140,306
2015141,025
2016142,534
2017143,353
2018145,478
2019146,005
2020146,643
2021148,693
2022151,860
2023153,666
2024155,541
2025157,925
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Warwick council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 22,925 people in 1996; 27,005 people in 2025. 17.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Warwick council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199122,374
199222,429
199322,470
199422,742
199522,779
199622,925
199722,867
199822,859
199922,872
200022,999
200122,972
200223,178
200323,456
200423,638
200523,865
200623,822
200723,336
200823,108
200923,218
201023,346
201123,629
201223,810
201323,938
201424,154
201524,433
201624,465
201724,591
201824,796
201924,878
202025,058
202125,181
202225,786
202326,459
202426,861
202527,005
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Warwick council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 78,446 people in 1996; 100,900 people in 2025. 28.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Warwick council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199176,284
199276,298
199376,062
199476,543
199577,068
199678,446
199778,846
199879,198
199979,663
200080,494
200182,446
200284,339
200386,378
200488,066
200589,578
200690,486
200791,789
200892,464
200992,673
201091,943
201190,881
201291,429
201390,944
201491,004
201590,905
201691,897
201792,040
201893,516
201993,455
202093,609
202195,294
202297,411
202398,127
202499,155
2025100,900
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Warwick council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,324 people in 1996; 30,020 people in 2025. 47.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Warwick council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,463
199219,593
199319,775
199419,895
199520,160
199620,324
199720,360
199820,498
199920,459
200020,496
200120,677
200220,813
200320,890
200421,015
200521,124
200621,285
200721,530
200821,876
200922,298
201022,826
201123,226
201223,986
201324,565
201425,148
201525,687
201626,172
201726,722
201827,166
201927,672
202027,976
202128,218
202228,663
202329,080
202429,525
202530,020
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 148,454 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Warwick · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh14,4039.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,6161.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,4793%
White125,53484.6%
Other ethnic group2,4221.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 137,648 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Warwick · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White122,71589.2%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,8032%
Asian/Asian British9,9457.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British9730.7%
Other ethnic group1,2120.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 125,931 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Warwick · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White117,01592.9%
Mixed1,3831.1%
Asian/Asian British5,9174.7%
Black/Black British5900.5%
Chinese/Other1,0260.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 16.4% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Warwick council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £12,769 per person in 1997; £30,229 per person in 2024. 136.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Warwick council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199712,769
199813,200
199913,736
200014,551
200114,942
200215,194
200315,538
200415,873
200515,987
200616,600
200717,259
200817,969
200918,115
201018,297
201118,643
201219,091
201319,900
201420,831
201522,481
201623,430
201723,318
201826,645
201925,721
202024,423
202124,866
202226,102
202328,374
202430,229
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Warwick council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 20.3% in 1997; 16.4% in 2024. 3.9 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Warwick council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199720.3
199821.9
199921.4
200022.2
200120.8
200220.1
200319.2
200417
200513.7
200613.4
200712.5
200814.1
200913.1
201013.3
201114.4
201213
201313.6
201415.2
201518.2
201621.7
201718.4
201830.5
201922.1
202016.4
202113.8
202213.7
202316
202416.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59%

21 March 2021 · Warwick local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

12.4%

21 March 2021 · Warwick local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

12.6%

21 March 2021 · Warwick local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.8%

21 March 2021 · Warwick local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£369,000

July 2026 · Warwick local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,241

August 2026 · Warwick local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.