Skip to content
Warwickshire Counts — Warwickshire, in numbers.Local help →

Rugby, in numbers

People and living standards: Rugby

Rugby local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Rugby local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 85,009 in 1991 to 125,594 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Rugby council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 85,511 people in 1996; 125,594 people in 2025. 46.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Rugby council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199185,009
199285,756
199385,308
199485,476
199585,710
199685,511
199785,483
199885,785
199986,155
200086,319
200187,520
200288,653
200389,050
200489,998
200591,321
200693,051
200794,748
200896,434
200997,662
201099,035
2011100,496
2012101,509
2013102,851
2014104,734
2015106,327
2016107,555
2017108,671
2018109,418
2019110,998
2020112,672
2021114,835
2022116,812
2023119,644
2024122,666
2025125,594
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Rugby council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,276 people in 1996; 24,483 people in 2025. 41.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Rugby council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,023
199217,214
199317,298
199417,363
199517,385
199617,276
199717,238
199817,455
199917,568
200017,536
200117,630
200217,820
200317,833
200418,065
200518,147
200618,242
200718,398
200818,507
200918,725
201019,114
201119,389
201219,690
201319,868
201420,299
201520,471
201620,719
201720,922
201821,202
201921,536
202021,865
202122,240
202222,879
202323,488
202424,100
202524,483
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Rugby council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 54,529 people in 1996; 78,778 people in 2025. 44.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Rugby council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199154,630
199255,036
199354,434
199454,540
199554,689
199654,529
199754,437
199854,507
199954,774
200054,857
200155,795
200256,561
200356,765
200457,324
200558,362
200659,773
200760,864
200861,929
200962,418
201062,894
201163,569
201263,631
201364,354
201465,225
201566,351
201667,041
201767,703
201868,021
201968,912
202070,112
202171,662
202272,757
202374,687
202476,760
202578,778
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Rugby council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 13,706 people in 1996; 22,333 people in 2025. 62.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Rugby council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,356
199213,506
199313,576
199413,573
199513,636
199613,706
199713,808
199813,823
199913,813
200013,926
200114,095
200214,272
200314,452
200414,609
200514,812
200615,036
200715,486
200815,998
200916,519
201017,027
201117,538
201218,188
201318,629
201419,210
201519,505
201619,795
201720,046
201820,195
201920,550
202020,695
202120,933
202221,176
202321,469
202421,806
202522,333
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 114,363 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rugby · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh8,7287.6%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African3,1102.7%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,2022.8%
White98,01385.7%
Other ethnic group1,3101.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 100,075 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rugby · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White90,56590.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,9862%
Asian/Asian British5,2255.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,9872%
Other ethnic group3120.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 87,454 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rugby · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White82,18394%
Mixed1,0091.2%
Asian/Asian British3,0273.5%
Black/Black British8451%
Chinese/Other3900.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 7.7% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Rugby council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,083 per person in 1997; £23,957 per person in 2024. 116.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Rugby council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,083
199811,372
199911,869
200012,601
200113,128
200213,459
200313,988
200414,520
200514,549
200615,025
200715,435
200815,875
200916,055
201015,935
201116,009
201216,540
201317,029
201417,700
201518,611
201619,260
201719,244
201818,819
201919,704
202019,880
202120,664
202221,391
202322,734
202423,957
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Rugby council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 4.5% in 1997; -7.7% in 2024. 12.2 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Rugby council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19974.5
19985
19994.9
20005.9
20016.1
20026.4
20037.3
20047
20053.5
20062.6
20070.6
20080.8
20090.3
2010-1.3
2011-1.7
2012-2.1
2013-2.8
2014-2.1
2015-2.2
20160
2017-2.3
2018-7.8
2019-6.5
2020-5.3
2021-5.4
2022-6.8
2023-7
2024-7.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

63%

21 March 2021 · Rugby local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

13.6%

21 March 2021 · Rugby local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.7%

21 March 2021 · Rugby local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.3%

21 March 2021 · Rugby local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£273,000

July 2026 · Rugby local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,049

August 2026 · Rugby local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.