Skip to content
Warwickshire Counts — Warwickshire, in numbers.Local help →

North Warwickshire, in numbers

People and living standards: North Warwickshire

North Warwickshire local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

North Warwickshire local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 61,038 in 1991 to 67,688 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

North Warwickshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 61,235 people in 1996; 67,688 people in 2025. 10.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — North Warwickshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199161,038
199261,119
199361,576
199461,228
199561,277
199661,235
199761,526
199861,781
199961,810
200061,888
200161,788
200261,825
200361,749
200461,769
200561,894
200661,920
200761,839
200861,968
200962,124
201062,066
201162,089
201262,099
201362,057
201462,292
201562,681
201662,908
201763,517
201864,098
201964,383
202064,271
202165,338
202266,020
202366,350
202467,045
202567,688
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

North Warwickshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 12,515 people in 1996; 11,758 people in 2025. 6% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — North Warwickshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199112,313
199212,430
199312,560
199412,522
199512,588
199612,515
199712,622
199812,656
199912,510
200012,466
200112,251
200212,036
200311,876
200411,667
200511,587
200611,450
200711,245
200811,023
200911,011
201010,989
201110,975
201210,863
201310,712
201410,665
201510,716
201610,739
201710,849
201811,010
201911,110
202011,090
202111,200
202211,455
202311,529
202411,643
202511,758
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

North Warwickshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 39,839 people in 1996; 40,633 people in 2025. 2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — North Warwickshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199140,350
199240,223
199340,399
199440,074
199539,924
199639,839
199739,952
199840,052
199940,152
200040,205
200140,225
200240,286
200340,232
200440,318
200540,399
200640,442
200740,362
200840,375
200940,191
201039,881
201139,624
201239,268
201338,933
201438,794
201538,865
201638,778
201739,009
201839,198
201939,208
202039,139
202139,797
202240,029
202340,090
202440,380
202540,633
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

North Warwickshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 8,881 people in 1996; 15,297 people in 2025. 72.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — North Warwickshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19918,375
19928,466
19938,617
19948,632
19958,765
19968,881
19978,952
19989,073
19999,148
20009,217
20019,312
20029,503
20039,641
20049,784
20059,908
200610,028
200710,232
200810,570
200910,922
201011,196
201111,490
201211,968
201312,412
201412,833
201513,100
201613,391
201713,659
201813,890
201914,065
202014,042
202114,341
202214,536
202314,731
202415,022
202515,297
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 65,036 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · North Warwickshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh8441.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African3640.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,1131.7%
White62,51496.1%
Other ethnic group2010.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 62,014 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · North Warwickshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White60,70997.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups5060.8%
Asian/Asian British5800.9%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1720.3%
Other ethnic group470.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 61,859 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · North Warwickshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White61,02098.6%
Mixed3200.5%
Asian/Asian British3060.5%
Black/Black British1170.2%
Chinese/Other960.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 8.1% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

North Warwickshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,795 per person in 1997; £23,858 per person in 2024. 171.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — North Warwickshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,795
19989,041
19999,433
20009,880
200110,415
200210,775
200311,317
200411,823
200512,054
200612,584
200713,087
200813,650
200914,208
201014,159
201114,391
201214,961
201315,580
201416,276
201517,437
201618,183
201718,226
201817,743
201918,557
202018,914
202119,653
202220,497
202322,256
202423,858
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

North Warwickshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -17.1% in 1997; -8.1% in 2024. 9 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — North Warwickshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-17.1
1998-16.5
1999-16.6
2000-17
2001-15.8
2002-14.8
2003-13.2
2004-12.9
2005-14.3
2006-14.1
2007-14.7
2008-13.3
2009-11.3
2010-12.3
2011-11.7
2012-11.4
2013-11.1
2014-10
2015-8.3
2016-5.6
2017-7.5
2018-13.1
2019-11.9
2020-9.9
2021-10
2022-10.7
2023-9
2024-8.1
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

58.9%

21 March 2021 · North Warwickshire local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.8%

21 March 2021 · North Warwickshire local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

22.2%

21 March 2021 · North Warwickshire local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.7%

21 March 2021 · North Warwickshire local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£274,000

July 2026 · North Warwickshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£982

August 2026 · North Warwickshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.