Skip to content
Warwickshire Counts — Warwickshire, in numbers.Local help →

Warwickshire, in numbers

People and living standards

Warwickshire County Council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Warwickshire County Council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 487,116 in 1991 to 644,021 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Warwickshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 494,719 people in 1996; 644,021 people in 2025. 30.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Warwickshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991487,116
1992489,272
1993490,409
1994492,338
1995493,824
1996494,719
1997496,786
1998499,075
1999499,565
2000501,190
2001506,193
2002510,691
2003515,056
2004518,637
2005523,653
2006529,059
2007534,381
2008539,384
2009542,131
2010544,166
2011546,554
2012550,276
2013553,178
2014557,454
2015561,471
2016566,625
2017572,303
2018578,389
2019584,155
2020589,253
2021599,115
2022609,185
2023621,265
2024633,002
2025644,021
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Warwickshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 97,954 people in 1996; 115,248 people in 2025. 17.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Warwickshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199196,561
199296,944
199397,463
199497,992
199598,249
199697,954
199798,185
199898,505
199998,345
200098,461
200198,410
200298,788
200398,972
200498,888
200599,081
200698,967
200798,302
200897,808
200997,920
201098,054
201198,388
201298,607
201398,879
201499,645
2015100,292
2016101,021
2017102,187
2018103,187
2019104,430
2020105,276
2021106,417
2022108,947
2023111,793
2024113,909
2025115,248
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Warwickshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 317,807 people in 1996; 395,655 people in 2025. 24.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Warwickshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991315,079
1992316,116
1993316,006
1994316,924
1995317,341
1996317,807
1997319,202
1998320,575
1999320,726
2000321,657
2001325,694
2002328,590
2003331,691
2004334,242
2005338,066
2006342,522
2007346,699
2008349,718
2009349,601
2010348,495
2011347,866
2012347,322
2013346,880
2014347,294
2015348,620
2016350,957
2017353,489
2018356,872
2019359,279
2020362,502
2021369,235
2022374,593
2023381,625
2024388,663
2025395,655
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Warwickshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 78,958 people in 1996; 133,118 people in 2025. 68.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Warwickshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199175,476
199276,212
199376,940
199477,422
199578,234
199678,958
199779,399
199879,995
199980,494
200081,072
200182,089
200283,313
200384,393
200485,507
200586,506
200687,570
200789,380
200891,858
200994,610
201097,617
2011100,300
2012104,347
2013107,419
2014110,515
2015112,559
2016114,647
2017116,627
2018118,330
2019120,446
2020121,475
2021123,463
2022125,645
2023127,847
2024130,430
2025133,118
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 596,773 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Warwickshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh37,3216.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African8,0161.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups13,5332.3%
White531,67489.1%
Other ethnic group6,2291%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 545,474 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Warwickshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White505,68892.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups7,9491.5%
Asian/Asian British25,0964.6%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4,4430.8%
Other ethnic group2,2980.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 505,860 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Warwickshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White483,50895.6%
Mixed3,9850.8%
Asian/Asian British14,1972.8%
Black/Black British2,0180.4%
Chinese/Other2,1520.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 3.5% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Warwickshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,348.95 per person in 1997; £26,867.78 per person in 2024. 136.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Warwickshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,348.95
199811,675.6
199912,196.61
200012,895.31
200113,394.1
200213,695.17
200314,194.57
200414,686.57
200514,876.26
200615,421.72
200715,962.39
200816,561.48
200916,813.28
201016,882.72
201117,129.14
201217,678.4
201318,330.45
201419,110.1
201520,473.01
201621,280.39
201721,158.37
201821,561.61
201922,076.33
202021,735.99
202122,546.59
202223,707.43
202325,400.93
202426,867.78
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Warwickshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 6.96% in 1997; 3.48% in 2024. 3.49 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Warwickshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19976.96
19987.84
19997.82
20008.34
20018.27
20028.25
20038.9
20048.21
20055.82
20065.31
20074.02
20085.16
20095
20104.53
20115.13
20124.67
20134.66
20145.68
20157.62
201610.51
20177.4
20185.64
20194.77
20203.55
20213.22
20223.24
20233.89
20243.48
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.5%

21 March 2021 · Warwickshire County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

14.8%

21 March 2021 · Warwickshire County Council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

16.9%

21 March 2021 · Warwickshire County Council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.6%

21 March 2021 · Warwickshire County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£307,000

July 2026 · Warwickshire County Council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.